Please Don’t Leave me!

With her back at the wall
She slammed my heart
Into shatters of glass
Finding no fit for the earth

The grin on her face
And her hurrying steps
Tear down the
The castle we have built

Her fingers motioning
Bullets of whales
My way to consume
The prey of my mind

Her voice
Fly with one-half wing
Of the bird
Chasing a crippled ant

She ran for the door
With the smoke of
The burning building
Roaring at the firemen

Sitting on my bed
With legs on my face
I write this sullen words
To paste on every signpost
In the world

Please don’t leave me

About michael ogundele

writer, ardent reader and a lover of nature. fell in love with writing fours years back and I've been engraved in her arms ever since. I share my little way of writing poetry and reflection based on the Mass reading of the day on this space. I hope you would enjoy reading as we ride the same chariot to the leafy greens. I reside in Lagos, Nigeria. Do follow me and together, let us jump into the ocean of my ink.
This entry was posted in Poems and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Please Don’t Leave me!

  1. ‘she slammed my heart into shatters of glass’ that’s beautiful.
    http://www.awordofsubstance.wordpress.com

    Like

Leave a Reply

