All saints day

Friday 1/11/ 2013
Solemnity of All Saints(today is a Holy Day of Obligation)
readings of the day:
Revelation 7:2-4, 9-14
Psalm 24:1bc-2, 3-4ab, 5-6
1 John 3:1-3
Matthew 5:1-12a

Reflection:

Delighted about the special feast of today. Its a total pointer towards christmas for me. The joy the wise men and all others felt on that day is analogous to the one the saints feel in heaven. What makes it more delightful is that the archbishop of lagos is coming to my parish to celebrate mass (6:30pm at ss peter and paul, somolu, lagos)- how else can it be awesome *winks*.

I would like to say i look at the ‘cloud of witnesses’ of my faith- the saints like my super-heroes cheering me up, clapping for me when i do right, praying with me and for me, encouraging me with their words and actions in becoming more pleasing to God in this race of life(How awesome again can it be **big smiles**).

I’ve got three grand patron saints topping my list which i would quickly relay here for us, i love them deeply and pay great attention to their words. So, follow me and let’s roll.

The first is saint francis of assisi, not only because our pope chose to go by his name and live out his spirit but because of his total love of jesus and creation which is exclusive of no other thing. His total self-denial of the riches of the world is worthy of emulation in the best way we can live it.

The second is saint thomas aquinas, awesome gentleman. I admire the sanctity and intellectual genius of this angelic doctor. His hymns likewise are of great value in the life of the church.

So, take a wild guess of who my third is…

The last is saint jose maria escriva. His embrace and call for holiness is on point. I mean big time, his simple and elegant way to live out in the middle of the world and sanctify our work without necessarily leaving the world in order for it to be a pleasing sacrifice to God is cool.

All the saints that we admire and are surrounded with have a lot in common, they are men and women of prayer,piety,sanctity,total love of God and they deny themselves of things not worthy of God. We can go on and on about their character and virtues, likewise, they do not joke with the sacraments.

The question is, how are we walking the thorny cool path of the saints in our lives. They are not just there to look at and admire and say ‘oh i kinda love his life’,what about living out his virtues in the way you can in order to have a deeper relationship with God. No one was born an awesome saint from birth rather we answer the call like they did (they have flesh and blood like us)by the grace of God and try out our best by living lives worthy of his name. So, no weary, sickness, pain, etc should stop us from living the saint’s life in our own way. Let’s forge a path for people around us to see and declare the wonders of God, so that at the end of our lives, we would cry out with great joy, ‘salvation belongs to our God who sits upon the throne and to the lamb’, for our robes have made white with christ’s blood.

So, hit me up, who are your top three most lovable saints.

Yours in christ.

Posted from WordPress for BlackBerry.

About Michael Ogundele

A writer, ardent reader and lover of nature. fell in love with writing five years back and I've been engraved in her arms ever since. I share my little way of writing poetry and reflections based on Catholic faith and Spirituality on this space. I hope you enjoy reading as we ride the same chariot to the leafy greens. Do follow me and together, let us jump into the ocean of my ink.
This entry was posted in Reflections and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

