Blood on the Fields

I see Violence and Conflict
On the People who bears the name
Their cry fill the skies

I see blood mixed with clay
From the people who dare not stray
Their voice cry to heaven

I see blood mixed with harvest
From the feet firmly on the rock
Their stem sweats with tears

I see day darkened with red
From the oppression that besets them
Their Voice blows the Ocean

I see jeering, mocking and grinding
On the people bound in chains
Their chains plead for mercy

I see People die for the cause of
Life unmoved with fear and terror
Death placed on their feet

Stream of words flow through my head
Can my heart withstand this test
Or I flee away into the mountains
This my heart ponder on with deep love
For the blood on the fields

In honor of those who have gone before us bearing the blood of faith, they are a sign of true victory.

About Michael Ogundele

A writer, ardent reader and lover of nature. fell in love with writing five years back and I've been engraved in her arms ever since. I share my little way of writing poetry and reflections based on Catholic faith and Spirituality on this space. I hope you enjoy reading as we ride the same chariot to the leafy greens. Do follow me and together, let us jump into the ocean of my ink.
This entry was posted in Poems and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

