THE STRANGE MAN WHO RAN PAST ME

On a Cold rainy night
Finished from my office late
Due to the meetings that finished late
Was pulled behind the trigger late

As I walk down my street
With my house near in sight
I saw a strange thing far ahead
Running towards me like a cheetah

His heart beat hard from afar
You could smell his very breath
As he ran as though he was chased
by the evil ones of the underworld

I try to bring up a red line
But he didn’t see my finishing line
We collided head butting one another
And it wasn’t any smother

He took up again continuing in his
Determined race this night as though
A price wait ahead in glory
He wants to attain

Soaked in the Mud
Of my Blood
Confused for some minutes
On the floor

For I couldn’t see what might
Be chasing this strange man this night
I watched as he disappeared
Into the thick shadows of the dark

As I ponder heavily
Thoughts rumble deep within
With blood dripping from my skin
From the collision of the strange man

What might be chasing this man
Did he saw a ghost or
Was he a thief running for safety
I beseech forgiveness for him
For the condition he left me

All this questions I could not tell
Which is the right thing
That must have been for him
Except that he ran past me

And I ask again

Who is this man that ran past???

About Michael Ogundele

A writer, ardent reader and lover of nature. fell in love with writing five years back and I've been engraved in her arms ever since. I share my little way of writing poetry and reflections based on Catholic faith and Spirituality on this space. I hope you enjoy reading as we ride the same chariot to the leafy greens. Do follow me and together, let us jump into the ocean of my ink.
This entry was posted in Poems and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to THE STRANGE MAN WHO RAN PAST ME

  1. Thank you very much for your kind comment Gift. God bless

    Like

Leave a Reply

