What if there were no RELIGION

Was having a conversation
With an old time friend
Whom we used to practice
The art of no practice

He was struck at the
Level of my commitment
To my new way of Life
And he dare to ask
What if there was no religion

And so if you would
Allow me to walk you down
the aisle of religion in
The sweet romance I found in it

If there was no religion
The cloud would offer no rain
For the tears of man would choke
The life out of it from their perils

If there was no religion
Homes would be empty
Chasing shadows of nothingness
Under the shades of the winter

If there was no religion
Man would enter the
Skin of animals
Licking each other’s wounds
From the sad experiments
Of the innermost tubes

If there was no religion
Rivers would turn to fire
And Wine would turn to vinegar
In our naked lips

If there was no religion
The world would
Walk in reverse
As deep down our
Inner cravings
would remain shallow
And forever graven in memory

For the red paintings
Would never fade
On the baboon made of silk
And the rosy plants would
Wither underneath
From the lack of honey

I know the glories of religion
And I’m proud I have one
A humble son of the Cross

As I ponder heavily
With thoughts rambling deep within

I ask again

What if there was no RELIGION???

About Michael Ogundele

A writer, ardent reader and lover of nature. fell in love with writing five years back and I've been engraved in her arms ever since. I share my little way of writing poetry and reflections based on Catholic faith and Spirituality on this space. I hope you enjoy reading as we ride the same chariot to the leafy greens. Do follow me and together, let us jump into the ocean of my ink.
This entry was posted in Poems and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

