INTO THY HANDS, I COMMEND MY SPIRIT

In my tiny little bed
As the sounds of
The bells of the street
Clinging my ear with heartfelt joy

The Sun stare dimly
At my face in my
Broad little window
Knowing this is the end

I can hear
The voices of the birds
In the street
Walking happily
And the children
Flying in the playground

With the face of the Madonna
Staring beautifully at me
In its position on the wall

As I held my phone
To type this last words
Before I’m gone out
Of the clay earth

My hands are weak
And my old feet
Moving quite in
A little direction
Can’t do this

And So
Deep within I typed
The following messages

Life is short
Heaven is Long
Live the best
out of that short life
In union with
The person in the
Long heaven above

And so my breath melts away
And all I could mutter was

Into thy hands I commend my Spirit

Poems copyright protected, and the property of twocatholicfriends, and not to be used without permission.

About Michael Ogundele

A writer, ardent reader and lover of nature. fell in love with writing five years back and I've been engraved in her arms ever since. I share my little way of writing poetry and reflections based on Catholic faith and Spirituality on this space. I hope you enjoy reading as we ride the same chariot to the leafy greens. Do follow me and together, let us jump into the ocean of my ink.
This entry was posted in Poems and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

