Thou Shall Control your Tongue

Control thy tongue

Control thy tongue

In the Crowdliness
Of the Body
The Mouth with
Its hanging shape
Has a steel Rod
Which can either Mold
Or Loosen the Art
Of Relationship with others

It could either ride
The relationship
Into the tunnel of Life
Or could uproot and
Stop its junction
At each walk

Was having a chat
With my long time friend
In a coffee shop
Some days back
And he flew to my face
The effect of his words

His Love of his Life
Walked out of his Lane
From his thoughtless words
Flooding overtime like a
Jar of hyssop
Which the young woman
Can’t drink any longer

He wished
He had learnt how to
Control his tongue
Not Fueling the car
Before it takes off
Which has left him
In a most bitter state

We exchange ideas
On how to smoothen
The whole situation
And he promised
To check back

As I left
The coffee shop
I meditate on
The use of tongue
And how it need to be
properly controlled

Remembering the words
Of the old monk
“Talk only when necessary”
My mind flipped
Through the Chapters
Of the Sacred letters
From my friend James
Comparing the Tongue
To a wild fire if not tamed

And So I asked myself

Why is it hard to keep our Tongue
From burning the bush?

Picture courtesy of photos.com

About Michael Ogundele

A writer, ardent reader and lover of nature. fell in love with writing five years back and I've been engraved in her arms ever since. I share my little way of writing poetry and reflections based on Catholic faith and Spirituality on this space. I hope you enjoy reading as we ride the same chariot to the leafy greens. Do follow me and together, let us jump into the ocean of my ink.
This entry was posted in Poems and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Thou Shall Control your Tongue

  1. Nice poem and message! With that picture the professor wonders if you are Punchyish?

    Like

  2. Thank you Professor for your comment. Really appreciate every word. By the way, what do you mean by punchyish?

    Like

  3. I especially like the first line of crowdliness of the body.
    http://www.awordofsubstance.wordpress.com

    Like

Leave a Reply

