The Old Book on My Shelf

Ensconcing in my Chair
In the study room
After a rugged day
To relax my head
With a film of meditative play

With the bright light of my Lamp
Illuminating like that of the Sun
Staring his eyes at my Library

I was compelled to
Break through the wall
Of my Library
Moving through with the
Touch of my fingers

Alas!
I saw an old one
Lying untouched for
Who knows how many years
From the feel of ice and water
Wonder how it walked there
In the very first instance

Grabbing it in my hands
I took my seat
And stared at the screen
Flicking through the pages

The Author intrigued me
With his wet pen
And he soaked me in
His rain of thoughts

After several minutes
I stopped the play
Feeling refreshed and renewed
As a “Friends of God”
As I lay my head for rest

This old book lying
Fallow on my shelf
Did made my night

About Michael Ogundele

A writer, ardent reader and lover of nature. fell in love with writing five years back and I've been engraved in her arms ever since. I share my little way of writing poetry and reflections based on Catholic faith and Spirituality on this space. I hope you enjoy reading as we ride the same chariot to the leafy greens. Do follow me and together, let us jump into the ocean of my ink.
This entry was posted in Poems and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

