To My Good Friend on Her Birthday

As I pen this
With roses in my fingers

A white dove appears shockingly
And she stoops by the
Louvres of my tiny window
Delightfully singing your name

Mary! Mary! Mary!
She exclaims.

I would gladly deliver
The message to her
For I know her
Beautiful footstep
For her walk is incomparable
And her smile
Always soaks my heart away
Anytime I pass by her house

Oh! Lest I forget
Her voice sugars the sky
And it attracts all the attention
Of the birds in heaven
At the tone of her voice

Hearing all this
I know the message
Is in the safe hands
Of the one who cares

And so the message goes thus
Happy Birthday
May you see every reason
To keep that lamp of smile burning
And May God strengthen
The hairs of your head
With wisdom and health

Hope you got the message my dear friend

To my good friend, as she is a year older

About Michael Ogundele

A writer, ardent reader and lover of nature. fell in love with writing five years back and I've been engraved in her arms ever since. I share my little way of writing poetry and reflections based on Catholic faith and Spirituality on this space. I hope you enjoy reading as we ride the same chariot to the leafy greens. Do follow me and together, let us jump into the ocean of my ink.
This entry was posted in Poems and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to To My Good Friend on Her Birthday

  1. What a beautiful idea as well as a beautiful poem!
    http://www.awordofsubstance.wordpress.com

    Like

Leave a Reply

