Keep at it!

Wednesday, 5-02-2014

Memorial of St. Agatha

Readings of the day:

2 Samuel 24:2, 9-17
Psalm 32:1-2, 5-7
Mark 6:1-6

Reflections:

What kind of wisdom has been given to him?.- Mark 6:2

The people in the native land of Jesus in the gospel reading of today, found in his words astonishment and wild wisdom, yet they didn’t give him the proper honor he deserved. They measured him by their own standards.

In our daily activity, people around us may tend to overlook our words and actions due to several things in their own eyes they measure us with. But, our lives if continually lived in the eyes of God will win out at the very end.

St. Agatha, whose memory we hold in high honor this day, suffered death for her virginity for the standard they measured her against in their time. They expected her to conform to some certain principles, but her live won out in the end as she persisted even unto death in being a witness for Christ. She showed us a great example, and great honor was bestowed on her even by those who didn’t acknowledge it when she was alive.

May God help us, we pray to be a shining light to all, we ask this through Christ our Lord, amen.

St. Agatha, Pray for us!

Peace and Love of Christ.

About Michael Ogundele

A writer, ardent reader and lover of nature. fell in love with writing five years back and I've been engraved in her arms ever since. I share my little way of writing poetry and reflections based on Catholic faith and Spirituality on this space. I hope you enjoy reading as we ride the same chariot to the leafy greens. Do follow me and together, let us jump into the ocean of my ink.
This entry was posted in Reflections and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Keep at it!

  1. eccentrichuman says:

    hello there! I’m glad I found your blog – I just started mine a few weeks ago and I wanted to write about my faith (catholic) other things as well, but I had doubts. But you write so eloquently about God!

    Like

    • Hi! I’m deeply honored by your words. Thank you very much! I had my doubts as well, but I had to jump down the cliff because it was something I love to do. I’m really glad that you have came here, your words raves the waves of my ocean. Kindly visit more often my brother in the Lord. I wish you the very best in your writings, my Friend. Please, what is the name of your blog so that I can have a look.

      Like

Leave a Reply

