Fire from the Sun

With the Sun
Tearing its skin
At the center stage
Of Lagos, Nigeria

Its roar can be heard
All over the street
As we appease the Divine
To quiet its lips

For its fury
Brings clouds of volcanoes
From the face of the traders
And its air
Blows heavy sweep
Of tears from the bodies
Of young children

The extreme heat
Blaze every
Nook and cranny
Of my soul
As I write this piece
On the rotten leaves
Burning away on the floor

Sounds blare continuously
From the cars
Noises throw its hands
In the sky
From the little being
Waving white flags
In ashes
To salute the commander
Whose eyes has met
The poison of the dark

As the thought
Of my loved ones
Match my heart
Like a zebra crossing

I plea for mercy
From the hands
Of the fury of the sun
As I fade
Away in silence

Contributed by my friend Mary Agbo

Photo courtesy of NASA

About Michael Ogundele

A writer, ardent reader and lover of nature. fell in love with writing five years back and I've been engraved in her arms ever since. I share my little way of writing poetry and reflections based on Catholic faith and Spirituality on this space. I hope you enjoy reading as we ride the same chariot to the leafy greens. Do follow me and together, let us jump into the ocean of my ink.
This entry was posted in Contributions, Poems and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Fire from the Sun

  1. I love your imagery – The sun seems so alive with creativity.
    http://www.awordofsubstance.wordpress.com

    Like

  2. Beautifully penned! Lovely lines dear!

    Like

Leave a Reply

