Are all Nigerians Corrupt???

I hear from the lips
Of my friend in the white sea
The scourge of corruption
Running in the stomach of Nigerians

I laughed! Oh I laugh
For she binds us all in chains
Heading in the dungeon to be slain
By the dragon of bribery and famine

I have an African skin
That I would in ever-time tear
A Nigerian blood flows off the cliff
That I cannot stop its bank
But to look at me with that eyes
Is to call all the birds in the sky
Blue as they swallow the cloud

For the Sun dawn on
The wicked and the good
But nay dare blank out
On the heads of the good
In offense of the bad

I love the fact that I’m here
I cherish my ‘yoruba culture’
Willed by the fingers of the divine
Who craved my tail here
To dangle with
As I walk the face of the earth

To call
All Nigerians corrupt
That my ears cannot bear
As I sing along in the rain
The songs of my Fathers

Photo: yeyeolade.wordpress.com

About Michael Ogundele

A writer, ardent reader and lover of nature. fell in love with writing five years back and I've been engraved in her arms ever since. I share my little way of writing poetry and reflections based on Catholic faith and Spirituality on this space. I hope you enjoy reading as we ride the same chariot to the leafy greens. Do follow me and together, let us jump into the ocean of my ink.
This entry was posted in Poems and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Are all Nigerians Corrupt???

  1. wonderful thought and beautiful lines……………so touchy………….i truly respect you dear! May GOD showers you HIS abundant blessings upon you always!

    Like

  2. Sly says:

    Awww, Michael the son of Ogundele nice write up.

    Like

Leave a Reply

