The Early Morning Accident!

As I hurry along
On the streets of Lagos to work
With the Sun not waking early
To catch sight of its duties
I wonder! Yes I do wonder
Whether our sins have bitten its tail
Back to its grave
As we chuckle on its dead bones

Getting to the bed of my office
A thunder flash of a man
Hurricaned my face
Leaving me a jar of scar
By the rear of my chin

Little wonder as I look back
He was being chased
By heavy lion of two men

Jesus! I exclaimed
As I make way to escape the bite
For The race was heavy
With stampede of horning train

As both head towards the runway
Not looking at the road ahead
The ant being chased
Was heavily shot in the eye
By the teeth of the termite ahead
Driving gently with the hand
Of an elderly old woman

With a loud bang
He landed softly like a feather
Thrown from the plane
With the teeth of the car
Grabbing a hard bite on its Buttocks
With his teeth flying with
Bruised wings

Not caring whether his blood
Flood along the street
The wounded heart hurry on
To reach its end
As he disappeared among the bin
In the alley of the street

With eyes watching on
From all angles
Meditating on what the
End of the man may be

News was told
He shouldered a rock
From the diamond’s mine
Of a nearby friend
In the wake of the morning

Photo credit: http://www.rnningfool.com

About Michael Ogundele

A writer, ardent reader and lover of nature. fell in love with writing five years back and I've been engraved in her arms ever since. I share my little way of writing poetry and reflections based on Catholic faith and Spirituality on this space. I hope you enjoy reading as we ride the same chariot to the leafy greens. Do follow me and together, let us jump into the ocean of my ink.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

