Though our Sins may be large as Mountain!!!

Tuesday, 18-03-2014

St. Cyril of Jerusalem

Readings of the day:

Isaiah 1:10, 16-20
Psalm 50:8-9, 16-17, 21, 23
Matthew 23:1-10

Reflections:

Wash yourselves clean, put away your misdeeds from before my eyes; cease doing evil; learn to do good. -Isaiah 1:16

This portion of Isaiah’s verse, I must say I enjoy reading when I feel buried in the thorns of my sins, when I sleep in the night of my sins. The invitation of God for dialogue, a call to talk out how to set things right(what a loving Father he is). He calls us in his abundant mercy to come and share in his goodness. The only demand (which is so tiny compared to the goodness we receive) is to have a willing and an obedient heart.

What kind of sin have we committed? How huge do we think the weight may be? How buried are we in the dark noon of despair? Do we feel the overcoming guilt of unforgiveness? Do we?

God is calling us to come and dialogue with him. He’s telling us, ‘Come here my child, let us talk things out’. I mean, come sit on my laps and whisper your sins into my ears. For Christ’s death on the cross has won for us abundant grace, mercy and love.

In the words of St. Cyril of Jerusalem, “God is loving to man, and loving in no small measure. For say not, I have committed fornication and adultery: I have done dreadful things, and not once only, but often: will he forgive? Will he grant pardon? Hear what the Psalmist says: how great is the multitude of your goodness, O lord! Your accumulated offenses surpass not the multitude of God’s mercies: your wounds surpass not the great physician’s skill. Only give yourself in faith: tell the physician your ailment: say thou also like David: I said, I will confess me my sins unto the Lord: and the same shall be done in your case, which he says immediately: and you shall forgive the wickedness of my heart.”

Turn away from sins and learn to do good.

Glory and Praise to you Lord Jesus Christ.

Peace and Love of Christ my friends!

Photo credit: pininterest.com/clownloach64

About Michael Ogundele

A writer, ardent reader and lover of nature. fell in love with writing five years back and I've been engraved in her arms ever since. I share my little way of writing poetry and reflections based on Catholic faith and Spirituality on this space. I hope you enjoy reading as we ride the same chariot to the leafy greens. Do follow me and together, let us jump into the ocean of my ink.
This entry was posted in Reflections and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

