Only one thing I seek from you

Friday, 2-5-2014

St. Athanasius

Readings of the day:

Acts 5:34-42
Psalm 27:1, 4, 13-14
John 6:1-15

Reflections:

One thing we should always keep in mind and one thing our heart should ever long for; to dwell in the presence of God all the time. For in finding delight in the lord’s sight here on earth, as a child rejoices in the presence of his father, we would find no hiding place in his sight in the afterlife.

What then would stop us from dwelling in his presence? Sickness? Insults? Disabilities? Accidents?

All this could only break down our physical body, nay, they cannot bend our will not to seek the face of God. It won’t stop our heart from earnestly gazing its eyes(though it may not be easy) at our beloved, waiting for those who persevere in the race of life. Though wounded we may be, our spirit should be ready to pick on with the sores.

Courage I say, courage is the ingredient we need to walk through the storms of life and still find joy in the suffering. Likewise, proclaiming the name of Christ with utter conviction. I have not found myself in the position of the apostles where I have to be flogged or undergo some harsh form of suffering for God, but I pray if ever the need arise, I won’t run away like a coward or depart from his face, same thing goes to us, but would gladly give my all for love.

Heaven is my home, there my heart longs for. Whom then shall I fear?

May God grant us courage to stand for his name in all we do, through Christ our Lord, amen.

Peace and Love of Christ!

MO.

Photo: http://www.exclassics.com

About Michael Ogundele

A writer, ardent reader and lover of nature. fell in love with writing five years back and I've been engraved in her arms ever since. I share my little way of writing poetry and reflections based on Catholic faith and Spirituality on this space. I hope you enjoy reading as we ride the same chariot to the leafy greens. Do follow me and together, let us jump into the ocean of my ink.
This entry was posted in Reflections and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

