When would these tears be gone

That young boy
Yes! He asked me in tears
Sir! When would I see my parent again
When would their blood flow back
In their veins
To awaken their brain to my face

When would they neglect the drag
Of the beards of peace and love
On the thorny rock of death
Playing evil genius strings of hate
With their half-pant tail

When would the tides of oneness
Flow in our rivers
As the sun grows darker
In the bright heavenly day
With no candle to brighten our way

When would heavy explosives
Not wear sweet garment round my waist
With white towel dragging my neck
To clean the dirts of my smile

In our tears
All I could utter was
Cry on! Cry on child
The cloud collect thy tears
And I hope it would rain
Peace and joy someday

Written for the victims of the bomb explosion in Nyanya, a suburb of the Federal capital territory, Abuja, Nigeria.

My heart bleeds with you, bleeds for my country.

MO.

Photo: http://www.johncoleman.org

About Michael Ogundele

A writer, ardent reader and lover of nature. fell in love with writing five years back and I've been engraved in her arms ever since. I share my little way of writing poetry and reflections based on Catholic faith and Spirituality on this space. I hope you enjoy reading as we ride the same chariot to the leafy greens. Do follow me and together, let us jump into the ocean of my ink.
This entry was posted in Poems and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to When would these tears be gone

  1. oyebola says:

    Micheal, this is a brilliant piece ,so sympathetic and in short,i love this piece.well done.

    Like

Leave a Reply

