I have been taught many lessons

2015/04/img_1025.jpg

I have been taught
many lessons

As a child
My day, I count my first fingers
My lips, to taste the golden breast
Warriors gave their life to protect

As an adult
My day, I wrote my first feelings
For love and the sunny day
My heart, leap like a hungry bird
The ink became
my favorite friend

As an elderly
My day, the tears I’d
never shed
The hour of death is a
mortal man
simple and having fed
My legs would walk, guided
by the songs and sweet prepare
Forever, would be the land
My thoughts would head
To seek thee my
Final lines, in no words
But humble gaze, in adoration
and praise
World without end

MO.

Image courtesy: listen-hard.com

About Michael Ogundele

A writer, ardent reader and lover of nature. fell in love with writing five years back and I've been engraved in her arms ever since. I share my little way of writing poetry and reflections based on Catholic faith and Spirituality on this space. I hope you enjoy reading as we ride the same chariot to the leafy greens. Do follow me and together, let us jump into the ocean of my ink.
This entry was posted in Poems and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to I have been taught many lessons

  1. secretangel says:

    Beautiful words…

    Like

Leave a Reply

