Courage!Death is our Friend

Have Been Poisoned
Shot by the Devil’s arrow
Why didn’t he miss
My eyes swim in rivers

My Heart bleed of his Venom
My Soul gropes the Earth
My Voice tremble
My Health grow old

I hear the Jeer of My enemies
They drag my bleeding heart
To their nest for harvest
I’m covered in my blood

I leave trails of water
Passerby nod in regret
Each look on with
A grin of distaste

My eyes grope in the Dark
Because of the Just cause
I trail on
Lord where is thy face

I walk in chains
Bounded like a slave
I’m left to be fed on
By the Nightwatchers of
The Moonlight eve

At this moment
Where skin turns to clay
My heart offers psalms
To the mocking crowd

Courage I whisper
Deep within the raves
Death is my Friend
I know his beautiful face

In honor of those dying of just cause, Courage, Death is our friend.

About Michael Ogundele

A writer, ardent reader and lover of nature. fell in love with writing five years back and I've been engraved in her arms ever since. I share my little way of writing poetry and reflections based on Catholic faith and Spirituality on this space. I hope you enjoy reading as we ride the same chariot to the leafy greens. Do follow me and together, let us jump into the ocean of my ink.
This entry was posted in Poems and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment